Skip to main content

Geometric Representation Theory

Posted in
Mon, 2020-06-22 (All day) - Fre, 2020-06-26 (All day)

Twinned conference "Geometric Representation Theory", June 22 - 26, 2020

The talks will be broadcast over Zoom. This will be via an institutional account (through either the PI or the MPI). We will then send you the details for the zoom meeting in due time. In order to participate please register by using the link to the registration form below.

There will be an opportunity for participants to contribute a 5-minute pre-recorded talk. If you are interested in this, please enter the details in the registration form by June 19, 2020.

Originally we had planned to have a twinned conference held simultaneously at Max Planck Institute in Bonn, Germany and Perimeter Institute in Waterloo, Canada. In light of the current Covid-19 pandemic, we have decided that the conference "Geometric Representation Theory" will instead go forward as an online event. The concept of the twinned conference was motivated by the desire to reduce environmental impact of conference travels. Our hope is that this initiative will help reduce transatlantic flights, while still promoting long distance interactions.

In recent years, tools from algebraic geometry and mathematical physics have proven very influential in representation theory. The most famous example is the geometric Langlands program, which is inspired by the original Langlands program in the function field case, but has also included advances in the theory of algebraic groups, Lie algebras and Cherednik algebras.  The goal of this twinned conference is to bring together experts in geometric representation theory and adjacent areas to discuss the forefront of current developments in this highly active field.


Registration: To register please use the registration form.


Confirmed Speakers:

Pramod Achar (Louisiana State University)
Roman Bezrukavnikov (MIT)
Ben Elias (University of Oregon)
Eugene Gorsky (UC Davis)
Michael Finkelberg (State University Higher School of Economics)
Martina Lanini (Università di Roma Tor Vergata)
Jenna Rajchgot (University of Saskatchewan)
Sam Raskin (The University of Texas at Austin)
Laura Rider (University of Georgia)
Pavel Safronov (University of Zurich)
Sarah Scherotzke (University of Luxembourg)
Olivier Schiffmann (CNRS, Université de Paris-Sud Orsay)
Monica Vazirani (UC Davis)
Harold Williams (UC Davis)
Xinwen Zhu (Caltech)


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact


Tobias Barthel (MPIM Bonn)
André Henriques (Oxford University)
Joel Kamnitzer (University of Toronto)
Carl Mautner (University of California, Riverside)
Aaron Mazel-Gee (University of Southern California)
Kevin Mcgerty (Oxford University)
Catharina Stroppel (University of Bonn)
Ben Webster (Perimeter Institute & University of Waterloo)


© MPI f. Mathematik, Bonn Impressum & Datenschutz
-A A +A