Skip to main content

Corona Virus – Information

Posted in

Corona Virus – Information

Institute closed to external people until April 20, 2020

Posted in

Only staff and authorized people with an entrance card will be allowed to enter the institute in the period March 14 - April 20, 2020.

External people (means: no entrance card) are not allowed to enter the institute until April 20, 2020.

Seminars and lectures in March and April have been cancelled.

We thank you for your understanding and will keep you updated about the situation.

Best regards,
MPIM Staff


Don Zagier elected as Honorary Member of the London Mathematical Society

Posted in

The London Mathematical Society has elected Prof. Don Zagier (MPIM, Bonn) and Prof. Edward Witten (IAS, Princeton) to Honorary Membership of the Society in 2019.

Bundesverdienstkreuz (Great Cross of Merit) for Peter Scholze

Posted in

Professor Peter Scholze received the Bundesverdienstkreuz (Great Cross of Merit) from the Federal President of Germany, Frank-Walter Steinmeier. The ceremony took place at Schloss Bellevue in Berlin (Federal President’s principal official residence). The Federal President's office declared that due to his exceptional achievements Peter Scholze was a motivating role model for future generations of his research area.


A new street in Bonn Poppelsdorf is named after the MPIM founder, Professor Friedrich Hirzebruch (1927-2012)

Posted in

We are pleased to announce that the city of Bonn decided on September 19, 2019 to name a new street in Bonn after our institute founder, Professor Friedrich Hirzebruch. The street is called Friedrich-Hirzebruch-Allee and is located in the Poppelsdorf campus between the corner of the Carl-Troll-Strasse/Karlrobert-Kreiten-Strasse and the new center of lecture halls, Endenicher Allee 19c.

"Pentagramma Mirificum". Hirzebruch lecture by Sergey Fomin on Friday, November 8, University Club Bonn

Posted in
Sergey Fomin
University of Michigan
Fri, 2019-11-08 18:00 - 19:00
University Club Bonn

Pentagramma Mirificum (the miraculous pentagram) is a beautiful geometric construction studied by Napier and Gauss. Its algebraic description yields the simplest instance of cluster transformations, a remarkable family of recurrences which arise in diverse mathematical contexts, from representation theory and enumerative combinatorics to theoretical physics and classical geometry (Euclidean, spherical, or hyperbolic).

© MPI f. Mathematik, Bonn Impressum & Datenschutz
-A A +A
Syndicate content