Skip to main content


Neuigkeiten über das MPI für Mathematik und die Menschen, die hier arbeiten

Peter Scholze erhält die Fields-Medaille. Dem neuen Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik wird die höchste Auszeichnung seiner Disziplin verliehen

Die Fields-Medaille gilt als Nobelpreis der Mathematik, und in diesem Jahr ehrt die Internationale Mathematische Union damit Peter Scholze. Dem Professor am Hausdorff-Zentrum für Mathematik der Universität Bonn und Direktor am Bonner Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik wurde der Preis auf dem Internationalen Mathematikerkongress in Rio de Janeiro verliehen. Der 30jährige ist erst der zweite Deutsche, der ihn erhält.

Michael Atiyah 1929-2019

Posted in

The Max Planck Institute for Mathematics mourns the death of Michael Atiyah, one of the giants of mathematics. Over many decades Michael Atiyah was a frequent and welcome visitor, inspiring speaker, ingeneous collaborator, and friend to many of the mathematicians in Bonn. Together with Friedrich Hirzebruch, MPIM's founding director and one of Michael's oldest and closest friends, he laid the foundations for topological K-theory, an important tool in algebraic topology. He almost always gave the opening lecture of the annual Mathematische Arbeitstagung in Bonn, from its beginning in 1957.

Peter Scholze new director at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics

Peter Scholze is a new director at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics. The 30-year old is one of the leading researchers in the field of Arithmetic Geometry. His achievements have already been recognized by a number of prizes and honors. Among others: a Clay Fellowship, the Prix Peccot of the Collège de France, the Clay Research Award, the Cole Prize for Algebra of the American Mathematical Society, the EMS Prize of the European Mathematical Society, the Leibniz Prize of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, and the membership in four prestigious scientific academies.

Geordie Williamson elected Fellow of the Royal Society

Posted in

Geordie Williamson, who has been Advanced Researcher at MPIM from 2011-2016, is the youngest living scientists to become a member of the Royal Society.

Geordie Williamson works in Representation Theory. He has made several fundamental contributions to the field including his proof (with Ben Elias) of the Kazhdan-Lusztig positivity conjecture, his algebraic proof of the Jantzen conjectures, and his discovery of counter-examples to the generally suspected limits of the Lusztig conjecture in modular representation theory.

Call for nominations for the position of Director of Max Planck institutes

Posted in

The Max Planck Society and its institutes are seeking nominations for the position of


for various research fields including mathematics. The call can be found here. The deadline is April 30, 2018 but later nominations may also be considered.

New Horizons in Mathematics Prize for Maryna Viazovska

Posted in
Marina Viazovska is a recipient of one of the New Horizons in Mathematics Prizes 2018 "for the remarkable application of the theory of modular forms to the sphere packing problem in special dimensions." Maryna was a doctoral student of Don Zagier in the MPIM graduate school from 2008-2012. She obtained her PhD from the University of Bonn in 2013.
The New Horizons in Mathematics Prize is an annual prize for junior researchers who have already produced important work. It consists of a monetary award of $100,000. The prize was established in 2016 and is funded by Mark Zuckerberg and Yuri Milner. The awards were announced together with the Breakthrough Prizes 2018 on December 3, 2017 at a gala ceremony in Silicon Valley hosted by Morgan Freeman.

Maryna Viazovska Awarded 2017 Ramanujan Prize

Maryna Viazovska, who conducted her doctoral research at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics from 2008-2012 under the guidance of Don Zagier, was awarded the Ramanujan Prize for 2017. Professor Viazovska is honored “for her stunning solution in dimension 8 of the celebrated sphere packing problem, and for her equally impressive joint work with Henry Cohn, Abhinav Kumar, Stephen D. Miller and Danylo Radchenko resolving the sphere packing problem in dimension 24, by building upon her fundamental ideas in dimension 8.” The prize also recognizes her outstanding PhD thesis of 2013 at the University of Bonn in which she resolved significant cases of the Gross-Zagier Conjecture and her work prior to her PhD with A. Bodarenko and D. Radchenko resolving a long-standing conjecture of Korevaar and Meyers on spherical designs, that appeared in the Annals of Mathematics in 2013. The prize notes that the modular forms techniques developed by Viazovska will have a significant future impact in discrete geometry, analytic number theory, and harmonic analysis. It was awarded on December 22 (Ramanujan's birthday), 2017 at the International Conference on Number Theory at SASTRA University in Kumbakonam, India, Ramanujan’s hometown.

MPIM Postdocs to Receive Prestigeous Award in Chinese Thousand Talents Program

Posted in

Di Yang (MPIM visitor from 09/2016 - 08/2018) and  Xuanyu Pan (MPIM visitor from 10/2016 - 09/2017) were each awarded one of the coveted and highly competitive awards from the Thousand Talents Program of the Chinese government. The award consists of a faculty position and funding up to 3 million RMB usually complemented by additional funds from the host university. Di Yang will be based at the University of Science and Technology of China in Hefei. Xuanyu Pan will be based at the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing.

International Congress of Mathematicians 2018: Many Invited Speakers with Ties to MPIM

A number of mathematicians who have held positions, were long-term visitors, or PhD students at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics are invited to present their work at the next International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM), which will take place on August 1-9, 2018 in Rio de Janeiro. Most notably, the newly appointed MPIM director Peter Scholze and Geordie Williamson, who has been Advanced Researcher at MPIM from 2011-2016, are both invited plenary speakers. Further invited speakers with ties to MPIM include:

Cantor-Medaille für Gerd Faltings

Posted in

Berlin, 3. Februar 2017. Gerd Faltings, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in Bonn, Honorarprofessor für Mathematik an der Universität Bonn und Mitglied im Hausdorff Center for Mathematics, dem Bonner Exzellenzcluster für Mathematik und mathematische Ökonomie, erhält die Cantor-Medaille der Deutschen Mathematiker-Vereinigung (DMV). Das beschloss das Präsidium der DMV kürzlich in Berlin. Die Cantor-Medaille ist die bedeutendste wissenschaftliche Auszeichnung, die die DMV vergibt.

© MPI f. Mathematik, Bonn Impressum & Datenschutz
-A A +A