Skip to main content

About the MPIM

The Max Planck Institute for Mathematics is one of the more than eighty research institutes of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften. The institute was founded in 1980 by Prof. Friedrich Hirzebruch✝ who directed until his retirement in 1995. The institute is led by a board of directors consisting of Dennis GaitsgoryPeter Scholze and Peter Teichner. They are joined by Stavros Garoufalidis, Sergei Gukov, Stefan Müller, and Werner Nahm as external scientific members and emeritus directors Werner Ballmann, Gerd Faltings, Günter Harder and Don Zagier as retired scientific members of the institute. Peter Teichner is presently the managing director.

The working areas are:

  • Algebraic Groups
  • Arithmetic Geometry
  • Number Theory
  • Representation Theory
  • Algebraic and Complex Geometry
  • Differential Geometry and Topology
  • Algebraic Topology
  • Global Analysis
  • Non-Commutative Geometry
  • Dynamical Systems
  • Mathematical Physics

The institute has only a small number of permanent staff. Most of the scientists visit the institute for a fixed period of time within our Guest Program. This concept aims at stimulating the discussion and the exchange of ideas within the mathematics community.

The research is supported by the library, the administration and the computer group.

© MPI f. Mathematik, Bonn Impressum & Datenschutz
-A A +A